In requesting a chat you are providing personal information such as name and contact details. This personal information will be handled in accordance with the Sydney Symphony Privacy Policy which can be viewed via this link –

Privacy Policy

Sydney Symphony Orchestra

Question? Click here to chat with us

Mon-Fri 9am-5pm (AEST/ADST) Exc. public holidays.

Totally Tchaikovsky

Ashkenazy & Ohlsson

Star pianist
Fateful symphony
Dates Thu 6 Dec, Fri 7 Dec, Sat 8 Dec Venue Sydney Opera House
Duration 1 hour 55 mins (incl. 20-min interval)

The Second Piano Concerto and the fateful Fourth Symphony.

Tchaikovsky speaks to the heart with candid feeling, he caresses the ear with glorious melody, he lifts the soul with buoyant rhythms. And yet he lived a tragic life. Perhaps, says Ashkenazy, it was his suffering that gave the world such great music.

This concert is a Tchaikovsky immersion, beginning with his Second Piano Concerto in its original uncut version. This concerto is known for an exquisitely intimate moment - just the piano, a violin and a cello - that nestles like a pearl in its flamboyant surrounds.

The concerto shares the program with Tchaikovsky's greatest symphony, the Fourth, with Fate at its dramatic heart.

Pre-concert talk by Yvonne Frindle in the Northern Foyer, 45 minutes before the performance.
Totally Tchaikovsky: Ashkenazy and Ohlsson

Audio kindly supplied by Silver Partners Universal Music.

    Piano Concerto No.2 (original version)
    Symphony No.4
  • Vladimir Ashkenazy conductor
  • Garrick Ohlsson piano
Buy Tickets
Error loading Razor Script /Concert/PerformanceDates.cshtml
Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Latest Tweets