Skip to main content

Chamber Sounds with Simone Young: Korngold, Schoenberg & Mahler

29 April, 2021

Vienna has been home to many of classical music’s greatest composers, and Korngold, Schoenberg and Mahler are no exception. These three pieces are some of their earliest compositions, but their genius is unmistakeable.

Series: Chamber Sounds
Premieres: 29 April 2021, 7:30pm AEST
On Demand from: 29 April 2021

Korngold’s music to accompany Shakespeare’s play demonstrates a talent for putting stories to music that would make him one of Hollywood’s greatest film composers. Schoenberg’s Notturno has all the warmth and lyricism of the greatest Romantic composers. Mahler’s Piano Quartet shows an early glimpse of the drama and boldness of his symphonies in an unusually intimate setting.

Here our Chief Conductor Designate, Simone Young, records all three works with musicians of the Sydney Symphony. Filmed in August 2020 in response to the Covid-19 shutdown.

Produced with the support of our partners at City Recital Hall under Covid-Safe arrangements.


KORNGOLD Much Ado About Nothing Suite Op.11
SCHOENBERG Notturno for Strings and Harp
Piano Quartet


SIMONE YOUNG conductor

About the Music

Watch the next episode

Simone Young guides us through two contemporary masterpieces in this performance at the City Recital Hall.

210527 SY Chamber Sounds Gallery

Presenting Partner