October 2017

Viewing:

All Concerts

SundayMondayTuesdayWednesdayThursdayFridaySaturday

1

2

3

4

7:00PM
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets™

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets™

Cars fly, trees fight back, and monsters are on the loose in Harry’s second year at Hogwarts™

Oct 4

7:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Jeffrey Schindler
conductor

5

7:00PM
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets™

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets™

Cars fly, trees fight back, and monsters are on the loose in Harry’s second year at Hogwarts™

Oct 5

7:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Jeffrey Schindler
conductor

6

7:00PM
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets™

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets™

Cars fly, trees fight back, and monsters are on the loose in Harry’s second year at Hogwarts™

Oct 6

7:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Jeffrey Schindler
conductor

7

2:00PM
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets™

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets™

Cars fly, trees fight back, and monsters are on the loose in Harry’s second year at Hogwarts™

Oct 7

2:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Jeffrey Schindler
conductor
7:00PM
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets™

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets™

Cars fly, trees fight back, and monsters are on the loose in Harry’s second year at Hogwarts™

Oct 7

7:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Jeffrey Schindler
conductor

8

9

10

11

12

13

7:00PM
Amadeus Live

Amadeus Live

Experience the multi-Academy Award® winning motion picture, Amadeus Live.

Oct 13

7:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Jeffrey Schindler
conductor
Cantillation
chorus

14

1:30PM
Amadeus Live

Amadeus Live

Experience the multi-Academy Award® winning motion picture, Amadeus Live.

Oct 14

1:30PM

Sydney Opera House

Jeffrey Schindler
conductor
Cantillation
chorus
7:00PM
Amadeus Live

Amadeus Live

Experience the multi-Academy Award® winning motion picture, Amadeus Live.

Oct 14

7:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Jeffrey Schindler
conductor
Cantillation
chorus

15

5:00PM
Dream Sequence

Dream Sequence

Artist in Residence Brett Dean conducts the 2nd program in our contemporary Carriageworks series.

Oct 15

5:00PM

Carriageworks

Brett Dean
conductor

16

17

18

6:30PM
Rachmaninoff on Fire

Rachmaninoff on Fire

Artist in Residence Brett Dean conducts music of his own and Rachmaninoff's Third Piano Concerto.

Oct 18

6:30PM

Sydney Opera House

Brett Dean
conductor
Piers Lane
piano

19

1:30PM
Rachmaninoff on Fire

Rachmaninoff on Fire

Artist in Residence Brett Dean conducts music of his own and Rachmaninoff's Third Piano Concerto.

Oct 19

1:30PM

Sydney Opera House

Brett Dean
conductor
Piers Lane
piano

20

8:00PM
Rachmaninoff on Fire

Rachmaninoff on Fire

Artist in Residence Brett Dean conducts music of his own and Rachmaninoff's Third Piano Concerto.

Oct 20

8:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Brett Dean
conductor
Piers Lane
piano

21

22

23

24

25

8:00PM
Sibelius & Mahler

Sibelius & Mahler

Dutch violinist Janine Jansen returns to Sydney to play Sibelius's Violin Concerto.

Oct 25

8:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Thomas Søndergård
conductor
Janine Jansen
violin

26

27

8:00PM
Sibelius & Mahler

Sibelius & Mahler

Dutch violinist Janine Jansen returns to Sydney to play Sibelius's Violin Concerto.

Oct 27

8:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Thomas Søndergård
conductor
Janine Jansen
violin

28

8:00PM
Sibelius & Mahler

Sibelius & Mahler

Dutch violinist Janine Jansen returns to Sydney to play Sibelius's Violin Concerto.

Oct 28

8:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Thomas Søndergård
conductor
Janine Jansen
violin

29

30

7:00PM
Sibelius & Mahler

Sibelius & Mahler

Dutch violinist Janine Jansen returns to Sydney to play Sibelius's Violin Concerto.

Oct 30

7:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Thomas Søndergård
conductor
Janine Jansen
violin

31


February 2018

Heaven is Closed

Two anti-heroes, a great violin concerto and a popular Australian composer.

Sydney Opera House
Wed 28 Feb / 6:30 pm
Thu 1 Mar / 1:30 pm
Fri 2 Mar / 8:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Wed 28 Feb / 6:30 pm
Thu 1 Mar / 1:30 pm
Fri 2 Mar / 8:00 pm

March 2018

Heaven is Closed

Two anti-heroes, a great violin concerto and a popular Australian composer.

Sydney Opera House
Wed 28 Feb / 6:30 pm
Thu 1 Mar / 1:30 pm
Fri 2 Mar / 8:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Wed 28 Feb / 6:30 pm
Thu 1 Mar / 1:30 pm
Fri 2 Mar / 8:00 pm

Bach and Beethoven

It’s Bach with a twist and Beethoven straight up in this one-hour concert of intimate chamber music.

Utzon Room
Fri 2 Mar / 6:00 pm
Sat 17 Mar / 6:00 pm
Utzon Room
Fri 2 Mar / 6:00 pm
Sat 17 Mar / 6:00 pm

Eskimo Joe

Iconic indie legends Eskimo Joe prepare to rock out with their biggest band yet: the SSO!

Sydney Opera House
Wed 7 Mar / 8:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Wed 7 Mar / 8:00 pm

Swing on This

Hear some of Australia’s leading stage and screen stars with their take on all-time swing classics.

Sydney Opera House
Sat 10 Mar / 8:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Sat 10 Mar / 8:00 pm

Who Needs a Conductor Anyway?

Australian pianist Simon Tedeschi teams up with the SSO for a rollercoaster ride.

Sydney Opera House
Sun 11 Mar / 2:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Sun 11 Mar / 2:00 pm

Nelson Freire plays the Emperor

Nelson Freire returns with Beethoven’s mighty Emperor concerto.

Sydney Opera House
Wed 14 Mar / 8:00 pm
Fri 16 Mar / 8:00 pm
Sat 17 Mar / 8:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Wed 14 Mar / 8:00 pm
Fri 16 Mar / 8:00 pm
Sat 17 Mar / 8:00 pm

Anne Sofie von Otter sings Schubert

Anne Sofie von Otter returns to Sydney with signature Schubert.

Sydney Opera House
Thu 22 Mar / 1:30 pm
Fri 23 Mar / 8:00 pm
Sat 24 Mar / 2:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Thu 22 Mar / 1:30 pm
Fri 23 Mar / 8:00 pm
Sat 24 Mar / 2:00 pm

David Drury in Recital

Experience the sound of the Sydney Opera House Grand Organ with David Drury at the console.

Sydney Opera House
Fri 23 Mar / 11:00 am
Sydney Opera House
Fri 23 Mar / 11:00 am

April 2018

Mozart and Mendelssohn

A concerto by Mozart and Mendelssohn’s sunny Italian Symphony.

City Recital Hall
Thu 5 Apr / 7:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Fri 6 Apr / 11:00 am
City Recital Hall
Thu 5 Apr / 7:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Fri 6 Apr / 11:00 am

Paloma Faith with the SSO

The multi platinum artist returns to Australia to make her debut with the SSO

Sydney Opera House
Fri 6 Apr / 8:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Fri 6 Apr / 8:00 pm

Beethoven’s Mass in C

A choral masterpiece by Beethoven and one of Haydn’s great London symphonies.

Sydney Opera House
Wed 11 Apr / 8:00 pm
Fri 13 Apr / 8:00 pm
Sat 14 Apr / 8:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Wed 11 Apr / 8:00 pm
Fri 13 Apr / 8:00 pm
Sat 14 Apr / 8:00 pm

Marsalis and Korngold

Blues, tango, bebop and the Viennese waltz meet in this one-hour concert of intimate chamber music.

Utzon Room
Sat 14 Apr / 6:00 pm
Utzon Room
Sat 14 Apr / 6:00 pm

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban™

Relive the magic of your favourite wizard in Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban™ — in Concert.

Sydney Opera House
Wed 18 Apr / 7:00 pm
Thu 19 Apr / 7:00 pm
Fri 20 Apr / 7:00 pm
Sat 21 Apr / 1:30 pm
Sat 21 Apr / 7:00 pm
Sun 22 Apr / 1:30 pm
Sydney Opera House
Wed 18 Apr / 7:00 pm
Thu 19 Apr / 7:00 pm
Fri 20 Apr / 7:00 pm
Sat 21 Apr / 1:30 pm
Sat 21 Apr / 7:00 pm
Sun 22 Apr / 1:30 pm

May 2018

Playlist with Matthew Wilkie

SSO bassoonist Matthew Wilkie introduces a program of music that has inspired him.

City Recital Hall
Tue 1 May / 6:30 pm
City Recital Hall
Tue 1 May / 6:30 pm

Planet Earth II Live in Concert

Stunning footage from Sir David Attenborough's iconic series accompanied by the SSO.

ICC Sydney Theatre
Fri 4 May / 8:00 pm
ICC Sydney Theatre
Fri 4 May / 8:00 pm

The Bernstein Songbook

Come on the town with Leonard Bernstein in a concert of musical theatre highlights.

Sydney Opera House
Thu 10 May / 6:30 pm
Fri 11 May / 8:00 pm
Sat 12 May / 8:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Thu 10 May / 6:30 pm
Fri 11 May / 8:00 pm
Sat 12 May / 8:00 pm

Yulianna Avdeeva in Recital

Yulianna Avdeeva makes her Australian debut with passionate music by Chopin and Liszt.

City Recital Hall
Mon 14 May / 7:00 pm
City Recital Hall
Mon 14 May / 7:00 pm

Spirit of Delight

Elgar summons the “Spirit of Delight” in his Second Symphony and Vondráček plays Prokofiev.

Sydney Opera House
Wed 16 May / 8:00 pm
Fri 18 May / 8:00 pm
Sat 19 May / 8:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Wed 16 May / 8:00 pm
Fri 18 May / 8:00 pm
Sat 19 May / 8:00 pm

Royal Fireworks

Hear the SSO Brass Ensemble in a rousing concert that will make your day!

Sydney Opera House
Fri 18 May / 11:00 am
Sydney Opera House
Fri 18 May / 11:00 am

Mozart and the Piano

Australian pianist Daniel de Borah makes his SSO mainstage debut playing a Mozart favourite.

City Recital Hall
Thu 24 May / 7:00 pm
City Recital Hall
Thu 24 May / 7:00 pm

Introduced Species

A one hour special event for Sydney Ideas for music and arts lovers, and the curious!

Seymour Centre
Thu 31 May / 6:30 pm
Seymour Centre
Thu 31 May / 6:30 pm

June 2018

Last Night of the Proms

Wear your red, white & blue, and head to the Sydney Opera House for the Last Night of the Proms!

Sydney Opera House
Fri 8 Jun / 8:00 pm
Sat 9 Jun / 2:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Fri 8 Jun / 8:00 pm
Sat 9 Jun / 2:00 pm

Anne-Sophie Mutter plays Tchaikovsky

The “queen of the violin” returns to Sydney to perform Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto.

Sydney Opera House
Thu 14 Jun / 8:00 pm
Fri 15 Jun / 8:00 pm
Sat 16 Jun / 8:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Thu 14 Jun / 8:00 pm
Fri 15 Jun / 8:00 pm
Sat 16 Jun / 8:00 pm

SSO Percussion Stars

Join the percussionists of the SSO for a fascinating and thrilling musical journey.

Sydney Opera House
Fri 15 Jun / 11:00 am
Sydney Opera House
Fri 15 Jun / 11:00 am

Grieg and Villa-Lobos

It’s a melting pot of musical influences in this one-hour concert of intimate chamber music.

Utzon Room
Fri 15 Jun / 6:00 pm
Sat 16 Jun / 6:00 pm
Utzon Room
Fri 15 Jun / 6:00 pm
Sat 16 Jun / 6:00 pm

Verdi’s Requiem

Verdi’s awe-inspiring Requiem lends the drama of opera to a deeply personal expression of grief.

Sydney Opera House
Thu 21 Jun / 6:30 pm
Sat 23 Jun / 2:00 pm
Mon 25 Jun / 7:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Thu 21 Jun / 6:30 pm
Sat 23 Jun / 2:00 pm
Mon 25 Jun / 7:00 pm

A Night at the Speakeasy

Hear George Gershwin “live” with the SSO in Rhapsody in Blue.

Sydney Opera House
Fri 29 Jun / 8:00 pm
Fri 29 Jun / 8:00 pm
Sat 30 Jun / 8:00 pm
Sat 30 Jun / 8:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Fri 29 Jun / 8:00 pm
Fri 29 Jun / 8:00 pm
Sat 30 Jun / 8:00 pm
Sat 30 Jun / 8:00 pm

July 2018

Simon Trpčeski in Recital

Experience Rimsky-Korsakov’s Scheherazade in a rarely heard version for solo piano.

City Recital Hall
Mon 2 Jul / 7:00 pm
City Recital Hall
Mon 2 Jul / 7:00 pm

Spirit Realms – Sacred and Profane

Music that will move your spirit and engage your senses.

Sydney Opera House
Wed 4 Jul / 6:30 pm
Thu 5 Jul / 1:30 pm
Fri 6 Jul / 11:00 am
Sydney Opera House
Wed 4 Jul / 6:30 pm
Thu 5 Jul / 1:30 pm
Fri 6 Jul / 11:00 am

Mozart’s Fantastic Flute

Music by Schubert, a Mozart flute concerto and the spirited Linz symphony.

City Recital Hall
Thu 12 Jul / 7:00 pm
City Recital Hall
Thu 12 Jul / 7:00 pm

Funny Girl – The Musical in Concert

Join us as we celebrate the iconic musical Funny Girl in Concert with your SSO.

Sydney Opera House
Thu 12 Jul / 8:00 pm
Fri 13 Jul / 8:00 pm
Sat 14 Jul / 2:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Thu 12 Jul / 8:00 pm
Fri 13 Jul / 8:00 pm
Sat 14 Jul / 2:00 pm

Pictures at an Exhibition

Exhilarating music from two Russian masters and an Australian premiere of a new American classic.

Sydney Opera House
Wed 18 Jul / 8:00 pm
Fri 20 Jul / 8:00 pm
Sat 21 Jul / 8:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Wed 18 Jul / 8:00 pm
Fri 20 Jul / 8:00 pm
Sat 21 Jul / 8:00 pm

Debussy and Shostakovich

Revel in the sounds of the harp and a powerful Shostakovich string quartet.

Utzon Room
Sat 21 Jul / 6:00 pm
Utzon Room
Sat 21 Jul / 6:00 pm

Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back

Don't miss the Australian premiere of STAR WARS: THE EMPIRE STRIKES BACK in concert!

ICC Sydney Theatre
Fri 27 Jul / 7:45 pm
ICC Sydney Theatre
Fri 27 Jul / 7:45 pm

August 2018

Spanish Nights

Falla’s Nights in the Gardens of Spain in a program of gorgeous symphonic impressions.

Sydney Opera House
Thu 2 Aug / 1:30 pm
Fri 3 Aug / 8:00 pm
Sat 4 Aug / 2:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Thu 2 Aug / 1:30 pm
Fri 3 Aug / 8:00 pm
Sat 4 Aug / 2:00 pm

Steven Osborne in Recital

An unexpected pairing of Debussy and Prokofiev makes for a sensational piano recital.

City Recital Hall
Mon 6 Aug / 7:00 pm
City Recital Hall
Mon 6 Aug / 7:00 pm

Mahler Six

Experience the tragedy, solace and drama of Mahler’s Sixth Symphony with Simone Young.

Sydney Opera House
Wed 8 Aug / 8:00 pm
Fri 10 Aug / 8:00 pm
Sat 11 Aug / 8:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Wed 8 Aug / 8:00 pm
Fri 10 Aug / 8:00 pm
Sat 11 Aug / 8:00 pm

Brahms Revelation: Symphony No.4

The first of two programs in a Brahms mini-festival, conducted by David Robertson.

Sydney Opera House
Wed 22 Aug / 6:30 pm
Fri 24 Aug / 8:00 pm
Sat 25 Aug / 2:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Wed 22 Aug / 6:30 pm
Fri 24 Aug / 8:00 pm
Sat 25 Aug / 2:00 pm

Brahms Revelation: Favourite Concertos

The second of two programs in a Brahms mini-festival, conducted by David Robertson.

Sydney Opera House
Wed 29 Aug / 8:00 pm
Fri 31 Aug / 8:00 pm
Sat 1 Sep / 8:00 pm
Mon 3 Sep / 7:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Wed 29 Aug / 8:00 pm
Fri 31 Aug / 8:00 pm
Sat 1 Sep / 8:00 pm
Mon 3 Sep / 7:00 pm

September 2018

Brahms Revelation: Favourite Concertos

The second of two programs in a Brahms mini-festival, conducted by David Robertson.

Sydney Opera House
Wed 29 Aug / 8:00 pm
Fri 31 Aug / 8:00 pm
Sat 1 Sep / 8:00 pm
Mon 3 Sep / 7:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Wed 29 Aug / 8:00 pm
Fri 31 Aug / 8:00 pm
Sat 1 Sep / 8:00 pm
Mon 3 Sep / 7:00 pm

Sinfonia Flamenca

Authentic Flamenco tradition meets the symphony orchestra for an experience like no other!

Sydney Opera House
Thu 6 Sep / 6:30 pm
Fri 7 Sep / 8:00 pm
Sat 8 Sep / 8:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Thu 6 Sep / 6:30 pm
Fri 7 Sep / 8:00 pm
Sat 8 Sep / 8:00 pm

Bruch and Dvořák

Enjoy two string quintets with a difference in this one-hour early evening concert of chamber music.

Utzon Room
Fri 7 Sep / 6:00 pm
Sat 8 Sep / 6:00 pm
Utzon Room
Fri 7 Sep / 6:00 pm
Sat 8 Sep / 6:00 pm

Playlist with Catherine Hewgill

Principal Cello Katie Hewgill introduces a program of music that has inspired her during her career.

City Recital Hall
Tue 11 Sep / 6:30 pm
City Recital Hall
Tue 11 Sep / 6:30 pm

Thum Prints

Tom Thum, fronts the SSO in a concert that will leave you amazed.

Sydney Opera House
Sun 16 Sep / 2:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Sun 16 Sep / 2:00 pm

Benjamin Grosvenor in Recital

Rising star Benjamin Grosvenor makes his SSO debut with an elegant and evocative piano recital.

City Recital Hall
Mon 17 Sep / 7:00 pm
City Recital Hall
Mon 17 Sep / 7:00 pm

Ashkenazy’s Romeo and Juliet

Ashkenazy returns to conduct a Romantic program inspired by the greatest love story of all.

Sydney Opera House
Wed 19 Sep / 8:00 pm
Fri 21 Sep / 8:00 pm
Sat 22 Sep / 8:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Wed 19 Sep / 8:00 pm
Fri 21 Sep / 8:00 pm
Sat 22 Sep / 8:00 pm

Mozart and Wagner

Awake to the beauty of music with this one-hour early evening concert of chamber music.

Utzon Room
Sat 22 Sep / 6:00 pm
Utzon Room
Sat 22 Sep / 6:00 pm

Tchaikovsky Cello Favourites

Hear Tchaikovsky’s Rococo Variations and Strauss’s Symphonia domestica.

Sydney Opera House
Thu 27 Sep / 1:30 pm
Fri 28 Sep / 8:00 pm
Sat 29 Sep / 2:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Thu 27 Sep / 1:30 pm
Fri 28 Sep / 8:00 pm
Sat 29 Sep / 2:00 pm

October 2018

The Last Days of Socrates

It’s a question of philosophy with music by Haydn and Brett Dean’s The Last Days of Socrates.

Sydney Opera House
Thu 11 Oct / 1:30 pm
Fri 12 Oct / 8:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Thu 11 Oct / 1:30 pm
Fri 12 Oct / 8:00 pm

Thibaudet plays the Egyptian Concerto

Hear Sibelius’s most popular symphony with music by Debussy and Saint-Saëns.

Sydney Opera House
Wed 17 Oct / 8:00 pm
Fri 19 Oct / 8:00 pm
Sat 20 Oct / 8:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Wed 17 Oct / 8:00 pm
Fri 19 Oct / 8:00 pm
Sat 20 Oct / 8:00 pm

Beethoven Nine

Edo de Waart returns to Sydney with Beethoven’s Ninth and Haydn’s magnificent London Symphony.

Sydney Opera House
Thu 25 Oct / 1:30 pm
Fri 26 Oct / 8:00 pm
Sat 27 Oct / 2:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Thu 25 Oct / 1:30 pm
Fri 26 Oct / 8:00 pm
Sat 27 Oct / 2:00 pm

French Fellowship

Stravinsky’s Pulcinella suite is the highlight in a concert to showcase the 2018 SSO Fellows.

Sydney Opera House
Fri 26 Oct / 11:00 am
Sydney Opera House
Fri 26 Oct / 11:00 am

Playlist with Kees Boersma

Principal Double Bass Kees Boersma introduces a program of music that has inspired him.

City Recital Hall
Tue 30 Oct / 6:30 pm
City Recital Hall
Tue 30 Oct / 6:30 pm

November 2018

The Happiness Box

Children's TV presenter Jay Laga’aia narrates an inspiring story of friendship and courage.

Sydney Opera House
Sun 4 Nov / 2:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Sun 4 Nov / 2:00 pm

Beethoven Seven

Three exhilarating programs, with Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony as the highlight in each one!

Sydney Opera House
Wed 7 Nov / 6:30 pm
Thu 8 Nov / 1:30 pm
Fri 9 Nov / 11:00 am
Sydney Opera House
Wed 7 Nov / 6:30 pm
Thu 8 Nov / 1:30 pm
Fri 9 Nov / 11:00 am

Prokofiev Five

David Robertson conducts a modern Russian classic and a new percussion concerto.

Sydney Opera House
Mon 12 Nov / 7:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Mon 12 Nov / 7:00 pm

European Tour Farewell Concert

Hear a gala program featuring music from the luscious Romantic sound world of Vienna.

Sydney Opera House
Fri 16 Nov / 8:00 pm
Sat 17 Nov / 8:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Fri 16 Nov / 8:00 pm
Sat 17 Nov / 8:00 pm