March 2018

Viewing:

All Concerts

SundayMondayTuesdayWednesdayThursdayFridaySaturday

1

1:30PM
Heaven is Closed

Heaven is Closed

Two anti-heroes, a great violin concerto and a popular Australian composer.

Mar 1

1:30PM

Sydney Opera House

Dima Slobodeniouk
conductor
Lisa Batiashvili
violin

2

8:00PM
Heaven is Closed

Heaven is Closed

Two anti-heroes, a great violin concerto and a popular Australian composer.

Mar 2

8:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Dima Slobodeniouk
conductor
Lisa Batiashvili
violin
6:00PM
Bach and Beethoven

Bach and Beethoven

It’s Bach with a twist and Beethoven straight up in this one-hour concert of intimate chamber music.

Mar 2

6:00PM

Utzon Room

Musicians of the SSO

3

4

5

6

7

8:00PM
Eskimo Joe

Eskimo Joe

Iconic indie legends Eskimo Joe prepare to rock out with their biggest band yet: the SSO!

Mar 7

8:00PM

Sydney Opera House

8

9

10

8:00PM
Swing on This

Swing on This

Hear some of Australia’s leading stage and screen stars with their take on all-time swing classics.

Mar 10

8:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Michael Falzon
vocalist
Luke Kennedy
vocalist
Rob Mills
vocalist
Ben Mingay
vocalist
Vanessa Scammell
conductor
Craig Schneider
piano

11

2:00PM
Who Needs a Conductor Anyway?

Who Needs a Conductor Anyway?

Australian pianist Simon Tedeschi teams up with the SSO for a rollercoaster ride.

Mar 11

2:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Roger Benedict
conductor
Simon Tedeschi
piano
Eva di Cesare
director

12

13

14

8:00PM
Nelson Freire plays the Emperor

Nelson Freire plays the Emperor

Nelson Freire returns with Beethoven’s mighty Emperor concerto.

Mar 14

8:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Donald Runnicles
conductor
Nelson Freire
piano

15

16

8:00PM
Nelson Freire plays the Emperor

Nelson Freire plays the Emperor

Nelson Freire returns with Beethoven’s mighty Emperor concerto.

Mar 16

8:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Donald Runnicles
conductor
Nelson Freire
piano

17

6:00PM
Bach and Beethoven

Bach and Beethoven

It’s Bach with a twist and Beethoven straight up in this one-hour concert of intimate chamber music.

Mar 17

6:00PM

Utzon Room

Musicians of the SSO
8:00PM
Nelson Freire plays the Emperor

Nelson Freire plays the Emperor

Nelson Freire returns with Beethoven’s mighty Emperor concerto.

Mar 17

8:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Donald Runnicles
conductor
Nelson Freire
piano

18

19

20

21

22

1:30PM
Runnicles Conducts Mahler Ten

Runnicles Conducts Mahler Ten

Donald Runnicles conducts Mahler’s final symphony.

Mar 22

1:30PM

Sydney Opera House

Donald Runnicles
conductor and piano
Stuart Skelton
tenor

23

8:00PM
Runnicles Conducts Mahler Ten

Runnicles Conducts Mahler Ten

Donald Runnicles conducts Mahler’s final symphony.

Mar 23

8:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Donald Runnicles
conductor and piano
Stuart Skelton
tenor
11:00AM
David Drury in Recital

David Drury in Recital

Experience the sound of the Sydney Opera House Grand Organ with David Drury at the console.

Mar 23

11:00AM

Sydney Opera House

David Drury
organ

24

2:00PM
Runnicles Conducts Mahler Ten

Runnicles Conducts Mahler Ten

Donald Runnicles conducts Mahler’s final symphony.

Mar 24

2:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Donald Runnicles
conductor and piano
Stuart Skelton
tenor

25

26

27

28

29

30

31


July 2018

Pictures at an Exhibition

Exhilarating music from two Russian masters and an Australian premiere of a new American classic.

Sydney Opera House
Wed 18 Jul / 8:00 pm
Fri 20 Jul / 8:00 pm
Sat 21 Jul / 8:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Wed 18 Jul / 8:00 pm
Fri 20 Jul / 8:00 pm
Sat 21 Jul / 8:00 pm

Debussy and Shostakovich

Revel in the sounds of the harp and a powerful Shostakovich string quartet.

Utzon Room
Sat 21 Jul / 6:00 pm
Utzon Room
Sat 21 Jul / 6:00 pm

St James Lunchtime Concert Series: July

Enjoy a lunchtime bassoon bonanza with musicians of the Sydney Symphony Orchestra!

St James’ Church, King St, Sydney
Wed 25 Jul / 1:15 pm
St James’ Church, King St, Sydney
Wed 25 Jul / 1:15 pm

Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back

Don't miss the Australian premiere of STAR WARS: THE EMPIRE STRIKES BACK in concert!

ICC Sydney Theatre
Fri 27 Jul / 7:45 pm
Sat 28 Jul / 4:45 pm
ICC Sydney Theatre
Fri 27 Jul / 7:45 pm
Sat 28 Jul / 4:45 pm

Sunday Serenade

From the pastoral serenity of a Brahms serenade to the buoyant classicism of a Mozart quartet.

Galston Uniting Church, Galston
Sun 29 Jul / 2:00 pm
Galston Uniting Church, Galston
Sun 29 Jul / 2:00 pm

August 2018

Spanish Nights

Falla’s Nights in the Gardens of Spain in a program of gorgeous symphonic impressions.

Sydney Opera House
Thu 2 Aug / 1:30 pm
Fri 3 Aug / 8:00 pm
Sat 4 Aug / 2:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Thu 2 Aug / 1:30 pm
Fri 3 Aug / 8:00 pm
Sat 4 Aug / 2:00 pm

Sunday Serenade

From the pastoral serenity of a Brahms serenade to the buoyant classicism of a Mozart quartet.

Casula Powerhouse Arts Centre, Casula
Sun 5 Aug / 2:00 pm
Casula Powerhouse Arts Centre, Casula
Sun 5 Aug / 2:00 pm

Steven Osborne in Recital

An unexpected pairing of Debussy and Prokofiev makes for a sensational piano recital.

City Recital Hall
Mon 6 Aug / 7:00 pm
City Recital Hall
Mon 6 Aug / 7:00 pm

Mahler Six

Experience the tragedy, solace and drama of Mahler’s Sixth Symphony with Simone Young.

Sydney Opera House
Wed 8 Aug / 8:00 pm
Fri 10 Aug / 8:00 pm
Sat 11 Aug / 8:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Wed 8 Aug / 8:00 pm
Fri 10 Aug / 8:00 pm
Sat 11 Aug / 8:00 pm

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire™ in Concert

The next instalment of this magical concert experience.

Sydney Opera House
Wed 15 Aug / 7:00 pm
Thu 16 Aug / 7:00 pm
Fri 17 Aug / 7:00 pm
Sat 18 Aug / 1:30 pm
Sat 18 Aug / 7:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Wed 15 Aug / 7:00 pm
Thu 16 Aug / 7:00 pm
Fri 17 Aug / 7:00 pm
Sat 18 Aug / 1:30 pm
Sat 18 Aug / 7:00 pm

Sublime Schubert

SSO Principal cellist Umberto Clerici teams up with the 2018 string Fellows

St James’ Church, King St
Wed 22 Aug / 1:15 pm
St James’ Church, King St
Wed 22 Aug / 1:15 pm

Brahms Revelation: Symphony No.4

The first of two programs in a Brahms mini-festival, conducted by David Robertson.

Sydney Opera House
Wed 22 Aug / 6:30 pm
Fri 24 Aug / 8:00 pm
Sat 25 Aug / 2:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Wed 22 Aug / 6:30 pm
Fri 24 Aug / 8:00 pm
Sat 25 Aug / 2:00 pm

Brahms Revelation: Favourite Concertos

The second of two programs in a Brahms mini-festival, conducted by David Robertson.

Sydney Opera House
Wed 29 Aug / 8:00 pm
Fri 31 Aug / 8:00 pm
Sat 1 Sep / 8:00 pm
Mon 3 Sep / 7:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Wed 29 Aug / 8:00 pm
Fri 31 Aug / 8:00 pm
Sat 1 Sep / 8:00 pm
Mon 3 Sep / 7:00 pm

September 2018

Brahms Revelation: Favourite Concertos

The second of two programs in a Brahms mini-festival, conducted by David Robertson.

Sydney Opera House
Wed 29 Aug / 8:00 pm
Fri 31 Aug / 8:00 pm
Sat 1 Sep / 8:00 pm
Mon 3 Sep / 7:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Wed 29 Aug / 8:00 pm
Fri 31 Aug / 8:00 pm
Sat 1 Sep / 8:00 pm
Mon 3 Sep / 7:00 pm

Sinfonia Flamenca

Authentic Flamenco tradition meets the symphony orchestra for an experience like no other!

Sydney Opera House
Thu 6 Sep / 6:30 pm
Fri 7 Sep / 8:00 pm
Sat 8 Sep / 8:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Thu 6 Sep / 6:30 pm
Fri 7 Sep / 8:00 pm
Sat 8 Sep / 8:00 pm

Bruch and Dvořák

Enjoy two string quintets with a difference in this one-hour early evening concert of chamber music.

Utzon Room
Fri 7 Sep / 6:00 pm
Sat 8 Sep / 6:00 pm
Utzon Room
Fri 7 Sep / 6:00 pm
Sat 8 Sep / 6:00 pm

Playlist with Catherine Hewgill

Principal Cello Katie Hewgill introduces a program of music that has inspired her during her career.

City Recital Hall
Tue 11 Sep / 6:30 pm
City Recital Hall
Tue 11 Sep / 6:30 pm

Disney in Concert: Mary Poppins

A magical evening for the whole family – the beloved film accompanied by a full orchestra.

Sydney Opera House
Fri 14 Sep / 7:00 pm
Sat 15 Sep / 2:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Fri 14 Sep / 7:00 pm
Sat 15 Sep / 2:00 pm

Thum Prints

Tom Thum, fronts the SSO in a concert that will leave you amazed.

Sydney Opera House
Sun 16 Sep / 2:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Sun 16 Sep / 2:00 pm

Benjamin Grosvenor in Recital

Rising star Benjamin Grosvenor makes his SSO debut with an elegant and evocative piano recital.

City Recital Hall
Mon 17 Sep / 7:00 pm
City Recital Hall
Mon 17 Sep / 7:00 pm

Ashkenazy’s Romeo and Juliet

Ashkenazy returns to conduct a Romantic program inspired by the greatest love story of all.

Sydney Opera House
Wed 19 Sep / 8:00 pm
Fri 21 Sep / 8:00 pm
Sat 22 Sep / 8:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Wed 19 Sep / 8:00 pm
Fri 21 Sep / 8:00 pm
Sat 22 Sep / 8:00 pm

Mozart and Wagner

Awake to the beauty of music with this one-hour early evening concert of chamber music.

Utzon Room
Sat 22 Sep / 6:00 pm
Utzon Room
Sat 22 Sep / 6:00 pm

Sunday Idylls

Awake to the beauty of music with this afternoon concert of contrasts, performed by the SSO Fellows.

OLGC Catholic Church, 9 Currie Rd, Forestville
Sun 23 Sep / 4:00 pm
OLGC Catholic Church, 9 Currie Rd, Forestville
Sun 23 Sep / 4:00 pm

Tchaikovsky Cello Favourites

Hear Tchaikovsky’s Rococo Variations and Strauss’s Symphonia domestica.

Sydney Opera House
Thu 27 Sep / 1:30 pm
Fri 28 Sep / 8:00 pm
Sat 29 Sep / 2:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Thu 27 Sep / 1:30 pm
Fri 28 Sep / 8:00 pm
Sat 29 Sep / 2:00 pm

October 2018

The Last Days of Socrates

It’s a question of philosophy with music by Haydn and Brett Dean’s The Last Days of Socrates.

Sydney Opera House
Thu 11 Oct / 1:30 pm
Fri 12 Oct / 8:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Thu 11 Oct / 1:30 pm
Fri 12 Oct / 8:00 pm

Thibaudet plays the Egyptian Concerto

Hear Sibelius’s most popular symphony with music by Debussy and Saint-Saëns.

Sydney Opera House
Wed 17 Oct / 8:00 pm
Fri 19 Oct / 8:00 pm
Sat 20 Oct / 8:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Wed 17 Oct / 8:00 pm
Fri 19 Oct / 8:00 pm
Sat 20 Oct / 8:00 pm

Beethoven Nine

Edo de Waart returns to Sydney with Beethoven’s Ninth and Haydn’s magnificent London Symphony.

Sydney Opera House
Thu 25 Oct / 1:30 pm
Fri 26 Oct / 8:00 pm
Sat 27 Oct / 2:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Thu 25 Oct / 1:30 pm
Fri 26 Oct / 8:00 pm
Sat 27 Oct / 2:00 pm

French Fellowship

Stravinsky’s Pulcinella suite is the highlight in a concert to showcase the 2018 SSO Fellows.

Sydney Opera House
Fri 26 Oct / 11:00 am
Sydney Opera House
Fri 26 Oct / 11:00 am

Playlist with Kees Boersma

Principal Double Bass Kees Boersma introduces a program of music that has inspired him.

City Recital Hall
Tue 30 Oct / 6:30 pm
City Recital Hall
Tue 30 Oct / 6:30 pm

November 2018

The Happiness Box

Children's TV presenter Jay Laga’aia narrates an inspiring story of friendship and courage.

Sydney Opera House
Sun 4 Nov / 2:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Sun 4 Nov / 2:00 pm

Beethoven Seven

Three exhilarating programs, with Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony as the highlight in each one!

Sydney Opera House
Wed 7 Nov / 6:30 pm
Thu 8 Nov / 1:30 pm
Fri 9 Nov / 11:00 am
Sydney Opera House
Wed 7 Nov / 6:30 pm
Thu 8 Nov / 1:30 pm
Fri 9 Nov / 11:00 am

Prokofiev Five

David Robertson conducts a modern Russian classic and a new percussion concerto.

Sydney Opera House
Mon 12 Nov / 7:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Mon 12 Nov / 7:00 pm

European Tour Farewell Concert

Hear a gala program featuring music from the luscious Romantic sound world of Vienna.

Sydney Opera House
Fri 16 Nov / 8:00 pm
Sat 17 Nov / 8:00 pm
Sydney Opera House
Fri 16 Nov / 8:00 pm
Sat 17 Nov / 8:00 pm