August 2019

Viewing:

Classical

SundayMondayTuesdayWednesdayThursdayFridaySaturday

1

2

3

4

5

7:00PM
Kirill Gerstein in Recital

Kirill Gerstein in Recital

Kirill Gerstein makes a triumphant return to Sydney.

Aug 5

7:00PM

City Recital Hall

Kirill Gerstein
piano

6

7

8:00PM
Kirill Gerstein performs Grieg's Piano Concerto

Kirill Gerstein performs Grieg's Piano Concerto

Enter a fantastic world of myths and dreams with David Robertson as guide.

Aug 7

8:00PM

Sydney Town Hall

David Robertson
conductor
Kirill Gerstein
piano

8

1:30PM
Kirill Gerstein performs Ravel and Gershwin

Kirill Gerstein performs Ravel and Gershwin

One of Kirill Gerstein’s first loves is jazz, as you’ll hear swings through these piano concertos.

Aug 8

1:30PM

Sydney Town Hall

David Robertson
conductor
Kirill Gerstein
piano

9

8:00PM
Kirill Gerstein performs Grieg's Piano Concerto

Kirill Gerstein performs Grieg's Piano Concerto

Enter a fantastic world of myths and dreams with David Robertson as guide.

Aug 9

8:00PM

Sydney Town Hall

David Robertson
conductor
Kirill Gerstein
piano
11:00AM
Berlioz’s Symphonie Fantastique

Berlioz’s Symphonie Fantastique

Enter a fantastic world with David Robertson as guide in Sibelius’s mythic En Saga.

Aug 9

11:00AM

Sydney Town Hall

David Robertson
conductor

10

8:00PM
Kirill Gerstein performs Grieg's Piano Concerto

Kirill Gerstein performs Grieg's Piano Concerto

Enter a fantastic world of myths and dreams with David Robertson as guide.

Aug 10

8:00PM

Sydney Town Hall

David Robertson
conductor
Kirill Gerstein
piano

11

12

13

14

15

7:00PM
Mozart's Symphony No.29

Mozart's Symphony No.29

Delight in an hour of Mozart with a concerto for a wind quartet and a theatrical symphony.

Aug 15

7:00PM

City Recital Hall

Andrew Haveron
conductor
David Papp
oboe
Francesco Celata
clarinet
Euan Harvey
horn
Fiona McNamara
bassoon

16

11:00AM
Mozart's Symphony No.29

Mozart's Symphony No.29

Delight in an hour of Mozart with a concerto for a wind quartet and a theatrical symphony.

Aug 16

11:00AM

Sydney Opera House

Andrew Haveron
conductor
David Papp
oboe
Francesco Celata
clarinet
Euan Harvey
horn
Fiona McNamara
bassoon

17

2:00PM
Mozart's Symphony No.29

Mozart's Symphony No.29

Delight in an hour of Mozart with a concerto for a wind quartet and a theatrical symphony.

Aug 17

2:00PM

Shoalhaven Entertainment Centre

Andrew Haveron
conductor
David Papp
oboe
Francesco Celata
clarinet
Euan Harvey
horn
Fiona McNamara
bassoon

18

19

20

21

6:30PM
Schubert, Liszt and Ledger

Schubert, Liszt and Ledger

Simone Young shows us visions of Vienna and then to hell and back with Liszt’s epic Dante Symphony.

Aug 21

6:30PM

Sydney Opera House

Simone Young
conductor
Louis Lortie
piano
Cantillation

22

1:30PM
Schubert and Liszt

Schubert and Liszt

Simone Young shows us Schubert’s Vienna and the infernal visions of Liszt’s Dante Symphony.

Aug 22

1:30PM

Sydney Opera House

Simone Young
conductor
Louis Lortie
piano
Cantillation

23

8:00PM
Schubert and Liszt

Schubert and Liszt

Simone Young shows us Schubert’s Vienna and the infernal visions of Liszt’s Dante Symphony.

Aug 23

8:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Simone Young
conductor
Louis Lortie
piano
Cantillation

24

2:00PM
Schubert and Liszt

Schubert and Liszt

Simone Young shows us Schubert’s Vienna and the infernal visions of Liszt’s Dante Symphony.

Aug 24

2:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Simone Young
conductor
Louis Lortie
piano
Cantillation

25

26

27

28

8:00PM
Shostakovich Symphony No.4

Shostakovich Symphony No.4

Khachaturian’s violin concerto overflows with exotic melody.

Aug 28

8:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Mark Wigglesworth
conductor
James Ehnes
violin

29

30

8:00PM
Shostakovich Symphony No.4

Shostakovich Symphony No.4

Khachaturian’s violin concerto overflows with exotic melody.

Aug 30

8:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Mark Wigglesworth
conductor
James Ehnes
violin

31

8:00PM
Shostakovich Symphony No.4

Shostakovich Symphony No.4

Khachaturian’s violin concerto overflows with exotic melody.

Aug 31

8:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Mark Wigglesworth
conductor
James Ehnes
violin


February 2020

The Rite of Spring

The Rite of Spring is one of the most thrilling pieces of music ever written.

Sydney Town Hall
Wed 19 Feb / 7:00 pm
Thu 20 Feb / 7:00 pm
Sydney Coliseum Theatre, West HQ
Sat 22 Feb / 8:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Wed 19 Feb / 7:00 pm
Thu 20 Feb / 7:00 pm
Sydney Coliseum Theatre, West HQ
Sat 22 Feb / 8:00 pm

Debussy and Ravel

A voyage on the seas of Debussy and Mendelssohn, plus Ravel’s dazzling piano concerto.

Sydney Town Hall
Wed 26 Feb / 8:00 pm
Thu 27 Feb / 1:30 pm
Fri 28 Feb / 8:00 pm
Sat 29 Feb / 2:00 pm
Sat 29 Feb / 8:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Wed 26 Feb / 8:00 pm
Thu 27 Feb / 1:30 pm
Fri 28 Feb / 8:00 pm
Sat 29 Feb / 2:00 pm
Sat 29 Feb / 8:00 pm

March 2020

Scheherazade

The seductive Scheherazade spins Arabian Nights tales in an opulent orchestral fantasy.

Sydney Town Hall
Wed 11 Mar / 7:00 pm
Thu 12 Mar / 7:00 pm
Fri 13 Mar / 11:00 am
Sydney Town Hall
Wed 11 Mar / 7:00 pm
Thu 12 Mar / 7:00 pm
Fri 13 Mar / 11:00 am

Debussy, Mozart and Rimsky-Korsakov

The versatile Alexander Shelley brings his fine-tuned musicianship to orchestral favourites.

Sydney Town Hall
Fri 13 Mar / 8:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Fri 13 Mar / 8:00 pm

Beethoven Missa Solemnis

Vast in scope and emotional power, Missa Solemnis is a masterpiece among masterpieces.

Sydney Town Hall
Wed 18 Mar / 8:00 pm
Fri 20 Mar / 8:00 pm
Sat 21 Mar / 8:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Wed 18 Mar / 8:00 pm
Fri 20 Mar / 8:00 pm
Sat 21 Mar / 8:00 pm

April 2020

Handel and Telemann

Early music expert David Stern conducts Handel’s hits in the gilded intimacy of City Recital Hall.

City Recital Hall
Wed 1 Apr / 7:00 pm
Thu 2 Apr / 7:00 pm
City Recital Hall
Wed 1 Apr / 7:00 pm
Thu 2 Apr / 7:00 pm

Beethoven and Brahms

Conductor Kirill Karabits leads the orchestra in inspiring performances of Brahms and Beethoven.

Sydney Town Hall
Wed 15 Apr / 8:00 pm
Thu 16 Apr / 1:30 pm
Fri 17 Apr / 8:00 pm
Sat 18 Apr / 2:00 pm
Sat 18 Apr / 8:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Wed 15 Apr / 8:00 pm
Thu 16 Apr / 1:30 pm
Fri 17 Apr / 8:00 pm
Sat 18 Apr / 2:00 pm
Sat 18 Apr / 8:00 pm

Shostakovich Symphony No.5

A virtuoso orchestral showpiece and a solemn memorial.

Sydney Town Hall
Wed 22 Apr / 7:00 pm
Thu 23 Apr / 7:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Wed 22 Apr / 7:00 pm
Thu 23 Apr / 7:00 pm

Dvořák, Haydn and Shostakovich

Shostakovich’s Fifth symphony pivots between defiance and despair, tragedy and celebration.

Sydney Town Hall
Fri 24 Apr / 8:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Fri 24 Apr / 8:00 pm

May 2020

Mozart and Shostakovich

Mozart’s most famous quartet, the ‘Dissonance’ is named for its audacious and enigmatic opening.

Utzon Room
Fri 1 May / 6:00 pm
Sat 2 May / 6:00 pm
Utzon Room
Fri 1 May / 6:00 pm
Sat 2 May / 6:00 pm

Northern Lights Festival Program 1

Join the Orchestra for one of Sibelius’ most accomplished and popular works.

Sydney Town Hall
Thu 21 May / 1:30 pm
Fri 22 May / 8:00 pm
Sat 23 May / 2:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Thu 21 May / 1:30 pm
Fri 22 May / 8:00 pm
Sat 23 May / 2:00 pm

Northern Lights Festival Program 2

Sibelius’s violin concerto runs cold and hot, while the First Symphony blazes with Northern Light.

Sydney Town Hall
Wed 27 May / 8:00 pm
Thu 28 May / 1:30 pm
Fri 29 May / 8:00 pm
Sat 30 May / 8:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Wed 27 May / 8:00 pm
Thu 28 May / 1:30 pm
Fri 29 May / 8:00 pm
Sat 30 May / 8:00 pm

Triumphant Brass

Let the Sydney Symphony brass envelop you in a morning of sumptuous music.

Sydney Town Hall
Fri 29 May / 11:00 am
Sydney Town Hall
Fri 29 May / 11:00 am

June 2020

Rebel, Gabrieli and Vivaldi

Conductor Benjamin Bayl, a specialist in this repertoire, is our guide to Venice and beyond.

City Recital Hall
Wed 10 Jun / 7:00 pm
Thu 11 Jun / 7:00 pm
City Recital Hall
Wed 10 Jun / 7:00 pm
Thu 11 Jun / 7:00 pm

Tchaikovsky and Grieg

A tour-de-force program of two great chamber works by two of the great Romantic composers.

Utzon Room
Fri 12 Jun / 6:00 pm
Sat 13 Jun / 6:00 pm
Utzon Room
Fri 12 Jun / 6:00 pm
Sat 13 Jun / 6:00 pm

Tchaikovsky and Prokofiev

Two of the greatest ballet composers, crafting some of the most memorable melodies ever composed.

Utzon Room
Fri 26 Jun / 6:00 pm
Sat 27 Jun / 6:00 pm
Utzon Room
Fri 26 Jun / 6:00 pm
Sat 27 Jun / 6:00 pm

July 2020

Mendelssohn Violin Concerto

The perfect vehicle for the ‘immaculate and rapturous’ music-making of Augustin Hadelich.

Sydney Town Hall
Wed 8 Jul / 8:00 pm
Thu 9 Jul / 1:30 pm
Fri 10 Jul / 8:00 pm
Sat 11 Jul / 2:00 pm
Sat 11 Jul / 8:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Wed 8 Jul / 8:00 pm
Thu 9 Jul / 1:30 pm
Fri 10 Jul / 8:00 pm
Sat 11 Jul / 2:00 pm
Sat 11 Jul / 8:00 pm

Simone Young conducts Beethoven

Simone Young brings her attention to Beethoven, the man and the music.

Sydney Town Hall
Wed 29 Jul / 8:00 pm
Thu 30 Jul / 1:30 pm
Fri 31 Jul / 8:00 pm
Sat 1 Aug / 2:00 pm
Sat 1 Aug / 8:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Wed 29 Jul / 8:00 pm
Thu 30 Jul / 1:30 pm
Fri 31 Jul / 8:00 pm
Sat 1 Aug / 2:00 pm
Sat 1 Aug / 8:00 pm

August 2020

Simone Young conducts Beethoven

Simone Young brings her attention to Beethoven, the man and the music.

Sydney Town Hall
Wed 29 Jul / 8:00 pm
Thu 30 Jul / 1:30 pm
Fri 31 Jul / 8:00 pm
Sat 1 Aug / 2:00 pm
Sat 1 Aug / 8:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Wed 29 Jul / 8:00 pm
Thu 30 Jul / 1:30 pm
Fri 31 Jul / 8:00 pm
Sat 1 Aug / 2:00 pm
Sat 1 Aug / 8:00 pm

Mozart and Beethoven

Violinist Henning Kraggerud leads the Sydney Symphony in a program of transcendent music.

City Recital Hall
Wed 19 Aug / 7:00 pm
Thu 20 Aug / 7:00 pm
City Recital Hall
Wed 19 Aug / 7:00 pm
Thu 20 Aug / 7:00 pm

September 2020

Brahms Symphony No.4

Brahms’ Fourth and final symphony is his greatest, the height of his achievement as symphonist.

Sydney Town Hall
Wed 9 Sep / 7:00 pm
Thu 10 Sep / 7:00 pm
Fri 11 Sep / 11:00 am
Sydney Town Hall
Wed 9 Sep / 7:00 pm
Thu 10 Sep / 7:00 pm
Fri 11 Sep / 11:00 am

Simone Young conducts Brahms

Two works bookend Brahms’ mastery: the first piano concerto and his majestic fourth symphony.

Sydney Town Hall
Fri 11 Sep / 8:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Fri 11 Sep / 8:00 pm

Dvořák Cello Concerto

Dvořák's captivating concerto harnesses the full expressive range of the cello's voice.

Sydney Town Hall
Wed 23 Sep / 8:00 pm
Thu 24 Sep / 1:30 pm
Fri 25 Sep / 8:00 pm
Sat 26 Sep / 2:00 pm
Sat 26 Sep / 8:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Wed 23 Sep / 8:00 pm
Thu 24 Sep / 1:30 pm
Fri 25 Sep / 8:00 pm
Sat 26 Sep / 2:00 pm
Sat 26 Sep / 8:00 pm

October 2020

Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No.2

Virtuoso Alexander Gavrylyuk is every bit the master of this epic concerto.

Sydney Town Hall
Wed 14 Oct / 8:00 pm
Thu 15 Oct / 1:30 pm
Fri 16 Oct / 8:00 pm
Sat 17 Oct / 8:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Wed 14 Oct / 8:00 pm
Thu 15 Oct / 1:30 pm
Fri 16 Oct / 8:00 pm
Sat 17 Oct / 8:00 pm

November 2020

Mozart and Tchaikovsky

The embarrassment of riches in Mozart’s piano concerto rewards pianist, orchestra and audience.

Sydney Town Hall
Wed 4 Nov / 8:00 pm
Thu 5 Nov / 1:30 pm
Fri 6 Nov / 8:00 pm
Sat 7 Nov / 8:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Wed 4 Nov / 8:00 pm
Thu 5 Nov / 1:30 pm
Fri 6 Nov / 8:00 pm
Sat 7 Nov / 8:00 pm

Mahler Symphony No.4

Mahler’s Fourth Symphony is a turning point, his last work to draw upon his early song-cycle.

Sydney Town Hall
Wed 11 Nov / 7:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Wed 11 Nov / 7:00 pm

Donald Runnicles conducts Mahler

Hear one of Mahler’s most uplifting symphonies, full of melodies, colour and perfect serenity.

Sydney Town Hall
Fri 13 Nov / 8:00 pm
Sat 14 Nov / 2:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Fri 13 Nov / 8:00 pm
Sat 14 Nov / 2:00 pm