November 2019

Viewing:

All Concerts

SundayMondayTuesdayWednesdayThursdayFridaySaturday

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

8:00PM
A Russian Gala

A Russian Gala

The compelling artistry of Behzod Abduraimov in Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No.1.

Nov 8

8:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Lionel Bringuier
conductor
Behzod Abduraimov
piano

9

8:00PM
A Russian Gala

A Russian Gala

The compelling artistry of Behzod Abduraimov in Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No.1.

Nov 9

8:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Lionel Bringuier
conductor
Behzod Abduraimov
piano

10

1:00PM
The Composer is Dead

The Composer is Dead

The whole orchestra is a suspect in this whodunit by Nathaniel Stookey and Lemony Snicket.

Nov 10

1:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Brett Kelly
conductor
Brendon Taylor
The Inspector
2:45PM
The Composer is Dead

The Composer is Dead

The whole orchestra is a suspect in this whodunit by Nathaniel Stookey and Lemony Snicket.

Nov 10

2:45PM

Sydney Opera House

Brett Kelly
conductor
Brendon Taylor
The Inspector

11

12

13

14

7:00PM
Andrew Haveron performs Mozart

Andrew Haveron performs Mozart

East meets West in Turkish-inspired music by Beethoven, Mozart and Haydn.

Nov 14

7:00PM

City Recital Hall

Andrew Haveron
violin-director

15

11:00AM
Andrew Haveron performs Mozart

Andrew Haveron performs Mozart

East meets West in Turkish-inspired music by Beethoven, Mozart and Haydn.

Nov 15

11:00AM

Sydney Opera House

Andrew Haveron
violin-director
8:00PM
Lea Salonga in Concert

Lea Salonga in Concert

The Tony® and Olivier Award-winning Disney legend returns.

Nov 15

8:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Lea Salonga
Gerard Salonga
conductor

16

7:30PM
Andrew Haveron performs Mozart

Andrew Haveron performs Mozart

East meets West in Turkish-inspired music by Beethoven, Mozart and Haydn.

Nov 16

7:30PM

Wollongong Town Hall

Andrew Haveron
violin-director
2:00PM
Lea Salonga in Concert

Lea Salonga in Concert

The Tony® and Olivier Award-winning Disney legend returns.

Nov 16

2:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Lea Salonga
Gerard Salonga
conductor
8:00PM
Lea Salonga in Concert

Lea Salonga in Concert

The Tony® and Olivier Award-winning Disney legend returns.

Nov 16

8:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Lea Salonga
Gerard Salonga
conductor

17

18

7:00PM
Paul Lewis in Recital

Paul Lewis in Recital

Cosmic and comic piano music by Schubert and Beethoven.

Nov 18

7:00PM

City Recital Hall

Paul Lewis
piano

19

20

21

7:00PM
Turangalîla-Symphonie

Turangalîla-Symphonie

Chief Conductor David Robertson conducts Olivier Messiaen’s magnum opus.

Nov 21

7:00PM

Sydney Opera House

David Robertson
conductor
Tengku Irfan
piano
Jacob Abela
ondes martenot

22

8:00PM
Skyfall in Concert

Skyfall in Concert

Daniel Craig returns as Bond on the big-screen, accompanied by the Sydney Symphony Orchestra.

Nov 22

8:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Thomas Newman
Composer
Nicholas Buc
Conductor

23

7:00PM
CANCELLED: Every Good Boy Deserves Favour

CANCELLED: Every Good Boy Deserves Favour

This performance has been cancelled.

Nov 23

7:00PM

Sydney Opera House

2:00PM
Skyfall in Concert

Skyfall in Concert

Daniel Craig returns as Bond on the big-screen, accompanied by the Sydney Symphony Orchestra.

Nov 23

2:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Thomas Newman
Composer
Nicholas Buc
Conductor
8:00PM
Skyfall in Concert

Skyfall in Concert

Daniel Craig returns as Bond on the big-screen, accompanied by the Sydney Symphony Orchestra.

Nov 23

8:00PM

Sydney Opera House

Thomas Newman
Composer
Nicholas Buc
Conductor

24

25

26

27

28

1:30PM
American Harmonies

American Harmonies

David Robertson conducts American dreams by Adams, Copland and Rouse

Nov 28

1:30PM

Sydney Opera House

David Robertson
conductor
Todd Gibson-Cornish
bassoon

29

8:00PM
American Harmonies

American Harmonies

David Robertson conducts American dreams by Adams, Copland and Rouse

Nov 29

8:00PM

Sydney Opera House

David Robertson
conductor
Todd Gibson-Cornish
bassoon

30

5:00PM
American Harmonies

American Harmonies

David Robertson conducts American dreams by Adams, Copland and Rouse

Nov 30

5:00PM

Sydney Opera House

David Robertson
conductor
Todd Gibson-Cornish
bassoon


May 2020

Northern Lights Festival Program 2

Sibelius’s violin concerto runs cold and hot, while the First Symphony blazes with Northern Light.

Sydney Town Hall
Wed 27 May / 8:00 pm
Thu 28 May / 1:30 pm
Fri 29 May / 8:00 pm
Sat 30 May / 8:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Wed 27 May / 8:00 pm
Thu 28 May / 1:30 pm
Fri 29 May / 8:00 pm
Sat 30 May / 8:00 pm

June 2020

Rebel, Gabrieli and Vivaldi

Conductor Benjamin Bayl, a specialist in this repertoire, is our guide to Venice and beyond.

City Recital Hall
Wed 10 Jun / 7:00 pm
Thu 11 Jun / 7:00 pm
City Recital Hall
Wed 10 Jun / 7:00 pm
Thu 11 Jun / 7:00 pm

Tchaikovsky and Grieg

A tour-de-force program of two great chamber works by two of the great Romantic composers.

Utzon Room
Fri 12 Jun / 6:00 pm
Sat 13 Jun / 6:00 pm
Utzon Room
Fri 12 Jun / 6:00 pm
Sat 13 Jun / 6:00 pm

Tchaikovsky and Prokofiev

Two of the greatest ballet composers, crafting some of the most memorable melodies ever composed.

Utzon Room
Fri 26 Jun / 6:00 pm
Sat 27 Jun / 6:00 pm
Utzon Room
Fri 26 Jun / 6:00 pm
Sat 27 Jun / 6:00 pm

July 2020

Peter and the Wolf

Prokofiev’s musical fairytale has been entertaining young people and their parents for generations.

The Concourse Concert Hall
Sun 5 Jul / 1:00 pm
Sun 5 Jul / 2:45 pm
The Concourse Concert Hall
Sun 5 Jul / 1:00 pm
Sun 5 Jul / 2:45 pm

Mendelssohn Violin Concerto

The perfect vehicle for the ‘immaculate and rapturous’ music-making of Augustin Hadelich.

Sydney Town Hall
Wed 8 Jul / 8:00 pm
Thu 9 Jul / 1:30 pm
Fri 10 Jul / 8:00 pm
Sat 11 Jul / 2:00 pm
Sat 11 Jul / 8:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Wed 8 Jul / 8:00 pm
Thu 9 Jul / 1:30 pm
Fri 10 Jul / 8:00 pm
Sat 11 Jul / 2:00 pm
Sat 11 Jul / 8:00 pm

Brahms A German Requiem

Experience an orchestral sound blended with a heavenly choir in Brahms’ profound masterpiece.

Sydney Town Hall
Thu 16 Jul / 8:00 pm
Fri 17 Jul / 8:00 pm
Sat 18 Jul / 8:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Thu 16 Jul / 8:00 pm
Fri 17 Jul / 8:00 pm
Sat 18 Jul / 8:00 pm

Simone Young conducts Beethoven

Simone Young brings her attention to Beethoven, the man and the music.

Sydney Town Hall
Wed 29 Jul / 8:00 pm
Thu 30 Jul / 1:30 pm
Fri 31 Jul / 8:00 pm
Sat 1 Aug / 2:00 pm
Sat 1 Aug / 8:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Wed 29 Jul / 8:00 pm
Thu 30 Jul / 1:30 pm
Fri 31 Jul / 8:00 pm
Sat 1 Aug / 2:00 pm
Sat 1 Aug / 8:00 pm

August 2020

Simone Young conducts Beethoven

Simone Young brings her attention to Beethoven, the man and the music.

Sydney Town Hall
Wed 29 Jul / 8:00 pm
Thu 30 Jul / 1:30 pm
Fri 31 Jul / 8:00 pm
Sat 1 Aug / 2:00 pm
Sat 1 Aug / 8:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Wed 29 Jul / 8:00 pm
Thu 30 Jul / 1:30 pm
Fri 31 Jul / 8:00 pm
Sat 1 Aug / 2:00 pm
Sat 1 Aug / 8:00 pm

A Global Ode to Joy

This Season renowned conductor Marin Alsop will lead A Global Ode to Joy on five continents.

Sydney Town Hall
Fri 7 Aug / 8:00 pm
Sat 8 Aug / 8:00 pm
Sun 9 Aug / 3:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Fri 7 Aug / 8:00 pm
Sat 8 Aug / 8:00 pm
Sun 9 Aug / 3:00 pm

Mozart and Beethoven

Violinist Henning Kraggerud leads the Sydney Symphony in a program of transcendent music.

City Recital Hall
Wed 19 Aug / 7:00 pm
Thu 20 Aug / 7:00 pm
City Recital Hall
Wed 19 Aug / 7:00 pm
Thu 20 Aug / 7:00 pm

September 2020

A Viennese Gala

A tribute to the iconic music and high society of Vienna.

Sydney Town Hall
Sat 5 Sep / 8:00 pm
Sun 6 Sep / 3:00 pm
Mon 7 Sep / 7:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Sat 5 Sep / 8:00 pm
Sun 6 Sep / 3:00 pm
Mon 7 Sep / 7:00 pm

Brahms Symphony No.4

Brahms’ Fourth and final symphony is his greatest, the height of his achievement as symphonist.

Sydney Town Hall
Wed 9 Sep / 7:00 pm
Thu 10 Sep / 7:00 pm
Fri 11 Sep / 11:00 am
Sydney Town Hall
Wed 9 Sep / 7:00 pm
Thu 10 Sep / 7:00 pm
Fri 11 Sep / 11:00 am

Simone Young conducts Brahms

Two works bookend Brahms’ mastery: the first piano concerto and his majestic fourth symphony.

Sydney Town Hall
Fri 11 Sep / 8:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Fri 11 Sep / 8:00 pm

Cédric Tiberghien in Recital

Witness Tiberghien’s refinement of sound in the mercurial beauty of this music.

City Recital Hall
Mon 14 Sep / 7:00 pm
City Recital Hall
Mon 14 Sep / 7:00 pm

Mozart and Brahms

Masters of the symphony, Mozart and Brahms are also renowned for their intimate chamber music.

Utzon Room
Fri 18 Sep / 6:00 pm
Sat 19 Sep / 6:00 pm
Utzon Room
Fri 18 Sep / 6:00 pm
Sat 19 Sep / 6:00 pm

Dvořák Cello Concerto

Dvořák's captivating concerto harnesses the full expressive range of the cello's voice.

Sydney Town Hall
Wed 23 Sep / 8:00 pm
Thu 24 Sep / 1:30 pm
Fri 25 Sep / 8:00 pm
Sat 26 Sep / 2:00 pm
Sat 26 Sep / 8:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Wed 23 Sep / 8:00 pm
Thu 24 Sep / 1:30 pm
Fri 25 Sep / 8:00 pm
Sat 26 Sep / 2:00 pm
Sat 26 Sep / 8:00 pm

October 2020

Tchaikovsky and Elgar

Tchaikovsky’s symphony in miniature overflows with unforgettable tunes.

City Recital Hall
Wed 7 Oct / 7:00 pm
Thu 8 Oct / 7:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Fri 16 Oct / 11:00 am
City Recital Hall
Wed 7 Oct / 7:00 pm
Thu 8 Oct / 7:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Fri 16 Oct / 11:00 am

Roald Dahl's Little Red Riding Hood

A retelling of a classic fairy tale, full of charm that turn the Orchestra into an enchanted forest.

The Concourse Concert Hall
Sun 11 Oct / 1:00 pm
Sun 11 Oct / 2:45 pm
The Concourse Concert Hall
Sun 11 Oct / 1:00 pm
Sun 11 Oct / 2:45 pm

Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No.2

Virtuoso Alexander Gavrylyuk is every bit the master of this epic concerto.

Sydney Town Hall
Wed 14 Oct / 8:00 pm
Thu 15 Oct / 1:30 pm
Fri 16 Oct / 8:00 pm
Sat 17 Oct / 8:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Wed 14 Oct / 8:00 pm
Thu 15 Oct / 1:30 pm
Fri 16 Oct / 8:00 pm
Sat 17 Oct / 8:00 pm

Mozart and Françaix

A virtuosic tour de force with music from Mozart and Francaix.

Utzon Room
Fri 23 Oct / 6:00 pm
Sat 24 Oct / 6:00 pm
Utzon Room
Fri 23 Oct / 6:00 pm
Sat 24 Oct / 6:00 pm

The Complete Brandenburg Concertos

Acclaimed Erin Helyard guides the Orchestra through Bach’s instrumental magnum opus.

City Recital Hall
Fri 23 Oct / 8:00 pm
Sat 24 Oct / 8:00 pm
City Recital Hall
Fri 23 Oct / 8:00 pm
Sat 24 Oct / 8:00 pm

Lauren Zhang in Recital

Zhang demonstrates her gift for finding the musical core of virtuoso barnstormers.

City Recital Hall
Mon 26 Oct / 7:00 pm
City Recital Hall
Mon 26 Oct / 7:00 pm

November 2020

Mozart and Tchaikovsky

The embarrassment of riches in Mozart’s piano concerto rewards pianist, orchestra and audience.

Sydney Town Hall
Wed 4 Nov / 8:00 pm
Thu 5 Nov / 1:30 pm
Fri 6 Nov / 8:00 pm
Sat 7 Nov / 8:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Wed 4 Nov / 8:00 pm
Thu 5 Nov / 1:30 pm
Fri 6 Nov / 8:00 pm
Sat 7 Nov / 8:00 pm

Mahler Symphony No.4

Mahler’s Fourth Symphony is a turning point, his last work to draw upon his early song-cycle.

Sydney Town Hall
Wed 11 Nov / 7:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Wed 11 Nov / 7:00 pm

Donald Runnicles conducts Mahler

Hear one of Mahler’s most uplifting symphonies, full of melodies, colour and perfect serenity.

Sydney Town Hall
Fri 13 Nov / 8:00 pm
Sat 14 Nov / 2:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Fri 13 Nov / 8:00 pm
Sat 14 Nov / 2:00 pm

Christian Tetzlaff performs Brahms

Brahms’ Violin Concerto is one of the most celebrated pieces in the repertoire.

Sydney Town Hall
Thu 19 Nov / 8:00 pm
Fri 20 Nov / 8:00 pm
Sat 21 Nov / 8:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Thu 19 Nov / 8:00 pm
Fri 20 Nov / 8:00 pm
Sat 21 Nov / 8:00 pm

Christian Tetzlaff performs Bach

Tetzlaff delivers Bach’s genius with every note creating a truly unmissable musical experience.

City Recital Hall
Sun 22 Nov / 3:00 pm
City Recital Hall
Sun 22 Nov / 3:00 pm

February 2021

Birds Of Tokyo

Bring the house down with electrifying rock.

Sydney Town Hall
Thu 4 Feb / 8:00 pm
Fri 5 Feb / 8:00 pm
Sydney Coliseum Theatre, West HQ
Sat 6 Feb / 8:00 pm
Sydney Town Hall
Thu 4 Feb / 8:00 pm
Fri 5 Feb / 8:00 pm
Sydney Coliseum Theatre, West HQ
Sat 6 Feb / 8:00 pm