Slava Grigoryan and Beethoven’s Eroica 

The Sydney Symphony Orchestra comes to Port Macquarie, Taree and Newcastle with internationally renowned guitarist and four-times ARIA winning artist Slava Grigoryan.

Rodrigo’s Concierto de Aranjuez is the perfect vehicle for Grigoryan: colourful, elegant and virtuosic, conjuring the stately atmosphere of the Palace of Aranjuez – the Spanish Versailles.

Bizet’s Suite from Carmen provides a perfect introduction into the soundworld of Spain with its combination of French elegance and Spanish colour. The Suite No.1 brings together the most famous moments from Bizet’s famous opera, from the rattling castanets of the Aragonaise, to the triumphant music of the Toréadors.

Beethoven’s Third Symphony was a musical revolution matched only by his famous Ninth. Of a scale previously unmatched by the great symphonists Haydn and Mozart, its grandeur is befitting of its Heroic title and remains one of Beethoven’s greatest compositions.


The Glasshouse Theatre

Port Macquarie

Tuesday 21 May / 7:00pm
The Glasshouse Theatre

Book now


Manning Entertainment Centre


Wednesday 22 May / 7:30pm
Manning Entertainment Centre

Book now


Newcastle City Hall


Thursday 23 May / 7:30pm
Newcastle City Hall

Book now


Schools Concerts

The Sydney Symphony will also present two interactive concerts for school students at 10am and 12pm on Wednesday 22 May in Port Macquarie, and  10am and 11.30am on Thursday 23 May and Friday 24 May in Taree and Newcastle.

find out more





BIZET Carmen: Suite No.1
RODRIGO Concierto de Aranjuez
BEETHOVEN Symphony No.3 Eroica



Umberto Clerici conductor
Slava Grigoryan guitar