Skip to main content

Music at St Luke's

Sydney Symphony Orchestra Fellowship 2022

Mozart at his lyrical best, with each instrument sharing a role in this bright and elegant music.

St Luke's Anglican Church, Mosman

St Luke's Anglican Church, Mosman

*This is a free unticketed event

Mozart’s Clarinet Quintet opens with an elegant and graceful melody from the strings before the introduction of the clarinet with a flourish, setting the tone for the music that follows.

The harp and strings create a much dreamier soundscape in Debussy’s Sacred and Profane Dances. Ethereal string melodies floating over the gentle ebb of the harp’s rhythms, and a light and sparkling waltz bringing the piece to a close.

The strings have a moment to themselves in Dvořák’s Nocturne. As its name suggests, there’s a nocturnal quality to this music – quietly expressive, passionate yet intimate, and a little dreamy. The flute joins the string quartet for Joan Tower’s much bolder Rising, which explores the idea of music “going up” – building in tempo and volume, climbing and rising to powerful climactic moments. In Ravel’s Introduction & Allegro the harp adds a touch of magic to the ensemble of flute, clarinet and strings. The music gathers momentum after a gentle introduction, but retains a breezy quality throughout, whirling to a climax in the middle before a bright and ecstatic finale.


MOZART Clarinet Quintet
CLAUDE DEBUSSY Sacred and Profane Dances
L Introduction & Allegro


Featuring the musicians of the Sydney Symphony Fellowship 2022:
VIOLIN Amanda Chen
CELLO Noah Oshiro
DOUBLE BASS Hayley Witmore
FLUTE Emilia Antcliff
CLARINET Olivia Hans-Rosenbaum
Sydney Symphony musicians:
VIOLIN Lerida Delbridge
VIOLA Justin Williams
Guest Musician:
HARP Melina van Leeuwen