Skip to main content

Simone Young conducts Brahms

Heart of Brahms

There are perfectionists. And then there’s Brahms, who famously took 21 years to write his first symphony. In his Variations on a Theme of Joseph Haydn, we see Brahms experimenting with orchestral writing of scale – providing us with music that’s as moving as it is masterly.

Sydney Town Hall
**Booking fee of $8.95 may apply

Over 60 years later, Schoenberg orchestrated Brahms’ First Piano Quartet for orchestra.

A piece he loved and thought performed too rarely, this orchestration brings out the expressive colour of Brahms’ music, while keeping the purity of a piece originally composed for four instruments.


BRAHMS Variations on a Theme of Joseph Haydn
BRAHMS arr. SCHOENBERG Piano Quartet No.1


SIMONE YOUNG conductor


The Sydney Symphony will continue to apply NSW Public Health Orders as they relate to ticketing and seating arrangements. As these Orders can change at very short notice, we will be allocating seats closer in time to concert dates than we have in previous seasons. This will allow us to maintain a COVID-19 safe environment.

Supporting Simone Young in 2021