Skip to main content

Chamber Sounds with Simone Young: Knussen & Vine

27 May, 2021

Simone Young guides us through two contemporary masterpieces in this performance at the City Recital Hall.

Series: Chamber Sounds
Premieres on this page: 27 May 2021, 7:30pm AEST
On Demand from: 27 May 2021

Carl Vine is one of Australia’s most celebrated composers. In Smith’s Alchemy he transforms the sounds of a string orchestra into what sounds like a single instrument, whirling and energetic. In Ophelia Dances, English composer Oliver Knussen captures the descent into madness of Hamlet’s Ophelia. In his own words: “I wanted to write a piece whose light-headed and giddy qualities would suggest a crossing of the line that divides laughter from tears.”

This is the Sydney Symphony's premiere of Oliver Knussen's Ophelia Dances Book 1, Op.13.


KNUSSEN Ophelia Dances Book 1, Op.13
VINE Smith's Alchemy


SIMONE YOUNG conductor

About the Music

Watch the first episode

Vienna has been home to many of classical music’s greatest composers, and Korngold, Schoenberg and Mahler are no exception.

210429 SY Chamber Sounds Gallery

Presenting Partner