Skip to main content

Tchaikovsky and Elgar

12 August, 2021

Impassioned and soulful. Led by our Concertmaster Andrew Haveron and featuring our former Principal Harp Louise Johnson, this performance includes gorgeous music by Elgar, Debussy and Tchaikovsky.

Premieres on this page: 12 August 2021, 7:30pm AEST
On Demand from: 12 August 2021

In Elgar’s Introduction and Allegro a string quartet of soloists are supported by a string orchestra in impassioned music that plays with the contrast between the intimate sound of the quartet and the lush and full sound of the string orchestra. Debussy’s Danses – Sacrée et profane shines the spotlight on the rarest of string instruments – the harp. Debussy’s music is delicate and ethereal, and dazzlingly beautiful. Tchaikovsky’s Serenade for Strings is like a symphony in miniature. It overflows with unforgettable tunes and is among his most beloved works, with a centrepiece waltz of balletic grace.


ELGAR Introduction and Allegro
DEBUSSY Danses – Sacrée et profane
TCHAIKOVSKY Serenade for Strings


ANDREW HAVERON violin-director

Presenting Partner