Skip to main content

Simone Young & Hilary Hahn

Celebrating the Concert Hall

Hilary Hahn makes her long-awaited return to Sydney with Prokofiev’s powerful Violin Concerto No.1.

Concert Hall, Sydney Opera House
Concert Hall, Sydney Opera House
*Booking fee of $8.95 may apply


This concert will conclude at approximately 3.30pm (Thursday), 10pm (Friday and Saturday).


Join us for the pre-concert talk 45 minutes before each performance in the Northern Foyer by Simon Bruckard.

Program Book

Behind every great piece is a great story. Have a read through the program book to get all the details.

Hilary Hahn is one of the most celebrated violinists to be heard today. In her long-awaited return to Sydney, her stunning virtuosity finds its perfect pairing with Simone Young as conductor.

From its haunting opening to its blisteringly intense moments, Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No.1 was an early triumph for Hahn as her turbo-charged technique captivated critics and audiences around the world.

With its dramatic highlights and tender melodies, Tchaikovsky described his Sixth Symphony as “the best thing I ever composed or shall compose.” Who better to conduct the work than Simone Young as we continue to celebrate our return to the Concert Hall.


CATHY MILLIKEN Catalogue of Sky*
50 Fanfares Commission
PROKOFIEV Violin Concerto No.1
Symphony No.6, Pathétique

*Cathy Milliken's Catalogue of Sky was made possible through the Sydney Symphony Orchestra's 50 Fanfares Project and was commissioned by the Sydney Symphony Orchestra, supported by Gary Holmes & Anne Reeckmann.


SIMONE YOUNG conductor


The Sydney Symphony will continue to apply NSW Public Health Orders related to live performance venues. New conditions of entry for all venues and performances may apply.

Presenting Partner