Skip to main content

Janáček, Ravel & Piazzolla

Intimate and intricate

Czech composer Leoš Janáček wrote his wind sextet Mládí (Youth) when he was 70, capturing the youthful mood characteristic of his works from this period.

You can include this concert as part of a 2024 Create Your Own Package and save up to 10%*!

Utzon Room, Sydney Opera House
Utzon Room, Sydney Opera House
Adult tickets from $90, concessions available
Reserve General Admission
Adult AdultGeneral Admission$90.00
Student StudentGeneral Admission$63.00
Pensioner PensionerGeneral Admission$81.00
Under 35 Under 35General Admission$77.00
Child ChildGeneral Admission$54.00
*Booking fee of $8.95 may apply


This concert will conclude at approximately 7pm. Latecomers might be admitted during a suitable break in the performance and will be guided to first available seats.

Your Guide to Music

This concert will be hosted by Genevieve Lang, who shall expertly guide your listening experience.

Concert Guide

Behind every great piece is a great story. Have a read through the concert guide to get all the details.

The writing is anything but juvenile, richly textured and deceptively complex, bursting with enthusiasm and virtuosity.

Maurice Ravel wrote his gripping Sonata for Violin and Cello in 1920, and dedicated it to the memory of his friend and colleague, Claude Debussy. There are moments of glowing textures that recall Debussy, and the incredibly detailed and intricate interplay of the two instruments is trademark Ravel. This enchanting duet is a thrilling musical adventure.

Argentinian composer Astor Piazzolla brought the sounds and rhythms of Argentinian tango into the concert hall, creating a new blend of tango, jazz and classical music known as nuevo tango (new tango). These pieces are among his finest and showcase the expressive richness and sophisticated harmonies that are so characteristic of his writing.


RAVEL Sonata for Violin and Cello
La muerte del ángel



Series Presenting Partner

Handpicked Wines

*Terms & Conditions may apply.