Skip to main content

Britten & Prokofiev

Rhythmic Movements

Evocative works by Prokofiev and Britten are brought to life in this intimate, fascinating chamber music program.

Utzon Room, Sydney Opera House
Adult tickets from $89, concessions available
Reserve General Admission
Adult AdultGeneral Admission$89.00
Student StudentGeneral Admission$81.00
Pensioner PensionerGeneral Admission$81.00
Under 35 Under 35General Admission$45.00
*Booking fee of $8.95 may apply

In his Phantasy Quartet, Britten presents a leisurely pastoral existence, which gives way to the grittiness of an industrialised world.

First performed in 1933, the work still possesses a freshness and a contemporary sensibility that’s exciting to experience, as Britten experiments with rhythm and the range of possibilities offered by the instruments.

Prokofiev’s Quintet in G minor is thrilling. Closely related to his ballet, Trapèze, it contains six characterful movements that lend themselves to expressive choreography. As pure music, the shapes form in the air as the mood shifts around the performers. It’s a fascinating piece, especially when heard in the intimate setting of the Utzon Room.


BRITTEN Phantasy Quartet
PROKOFIEV Quintet in G Minor


Harry Bennetts
David Campbell
Callum Hogan
Stuart Johnson
Marina Marsden
Justine Marsden
Alexander Morris
Shefali Pryor
Adrian Wallis