Fellowship Applications

Applications for Fellowship 2018 are now closed.

The SSO Fellowship program is a year-long commitment and successful candidates will need to be resident in Sydney during 2018. If you are intending to study in 2018 you may need to defer your studies should you audition successfully.

Applications are taken from the following instruments: Flute + Piccolo, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, Horn, Trumpet, Tenor Trombone, Percussion + Timpani, Violin, Viola, Cello, Double Bass.

To be eligible to apply you need to be an Australian citizen or permanent resident, New Zealand citizen, have finished high school, and be aged 29 years or younger as at 31 December 2017.

How to Apply

Fellowship auditions are in two rounds. The first round is audition by video - YouTube, Vimeo or similar. Successful candidates will be invited to attend second round live auditions in Sydney (see dates below).

Please note that first round applications are now closed for Fellowship 2018 and candidates for second round have been selected. Audition requirements for second round can be downloaded from the list in the right hand column.

Applications for 2019 Fellowship will open approximately in March 2018.

Timeline for Fellowship 2018 Applications

First Round Video

Early March 2017: Applications Open
Mon 1 May 2017: Applications Close
Approx Fri 19 May 2017: Results communicated to applicants

Second Round Live Auditions in Sydney

Fri 9 Jun 2017: Clarinet, Oboe
Fri 16 Jun 2017: Flute
Sat 17 Jun 2017: Percussion
Sat 24 Jun 2017: Horn, Bassoon
Mon 26 Jun 2017: Trombone
Wed 28 Jun 2017: Trumpet
Fri 30 Jun 2017: Violin, Cello
Sat 1 Jul 2017: Viola, Double Bass

Please note that dates are subject to change

For more information please email auditions@sydneysymphony.com

Learn more about the Fellowship